Meghan Tells It

Just another WordPress.com site

Who Chooses Life or Chooses Death? November 3, 2014

Filed under: Thoughts — Meghan Hamilton @ 7:04 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Brittany Maynard has been in the news a lot lately.  She publicly declared that she would end her own life rather than waiting for terminal cancer to shut down her body.  And then she did.  Of course this has caused much debate over the morality of such a decision and the legality of a doctor helping her end her life under these circumstances.  So, I take this opportunity to throw in my two cents.

The Christian faith I grew up with, and continue to believe, tells me that death should be God’s decision, not our own.  I still believe that.  By extension, I don’t believe that this is the government’s decision.  I don’t need the government to legislate morality.  While our actions certainly have an affect on others, the government should have little right to interfere with people’s lives.  Who does this hurt?  Her family?  Yes.  But what if I, as someone with a basically healthy body, decided to up and leave my family and never speak to them again?  It wouldn’t really be the government’s business except for trying to get child support money on behalf of Alex.  It might not be wise, or responsible, or the Christian Thing to do, but it is my decision to stay or go.  I see Ms. Maynard’s decision to end her own life in the same light.

So, do I applaud Ms. Maynard for making this decision on her own?  Yes.  Is it the decision I would have advised her to make?  No.  But should the government be allowed to tell her doctor not to prescribe medication that she could use to end her life?  No.  Let her and her doctor decide that.  Let me decide for myself what I will make of my life or my death.  In my case, according to my faith I will go to prayer and scripture if faced with a terminal and painful illness.  If you read those very scriptures, they are all about making choices to follow God or not.  They aren’t about telling the government how to make people follow God.  Even when the laws align with scripture, each of us ultimately goes to our death individually and stands before God as an individual.  He looks at us each through His own eyes.  Those eyes are not my eyes.  They are not your eyes.  They are not the lawmakers’ eyes.  They are God’s eyes.  He decides what to do about Ms. Maynard’s decision to end her life a couple of months early, not you, not me, not anyone else on this planet.

I would like the government to continue to protect me from those out to endanger me and my neighbors.  But try as our lawmakers might, they can’t stop me from endangering myself.  And I don’t want them to.  If someone I know is facing a situation like Ms. Maynard’s and wants my advice, I’ll freely give it.  And then I will step back and let her or him decide.  Freedom is precious and shouldn’t be taken away because we disagree with someone’s decision to end their life.

 

2 Responses to “Who Chooses Life or Chooses Death?”

  1. I sense lack of empathy as a reason why many people wanted to deny her, her right. I don’t believe any counselor should suggest such an action, but I do believe in such grave circumstances professional advice should be sought on making a decision of capital magnitude.

    • Yes. I think that people get so caught up in what they believe to be the right thing that they don’t leave room for other beliefs. Is my own belief correct? I’d like to think so, but I don’t think I should take away your right to believe something else. Especially on an issue as precious as freedom.


Leave a Reply

