Meghan Tells It

Just another WordPress.com site

Natural Antacid? November 18, 2014

Filed under: Natural Products — Meghan Hamilton @ 12:50 am
Tags: , , ,

glass-of-water

A few months ago I was out of my usual antacid tablets.  It was the middle of the night.  I had foolishly eaten foods that I knew would bother my stomach.  Boy was I paying for that moment of pleasure!  Even if I didn’t have a young child to consider, stores in my area close by 9:00PM or so.  I was absolutely desperate though.  I couldn’t sleep.  My throat felt as though it were being eaten away by the acid burbling up from my overwrought stomach.  What was I to do?  Ask the internet of course!  I searched for “homemade antacid” and the interwebz didn’t disappoint.

  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 4 ounces of water

Mix until the baking soda is dissolved and drink it down.

I was all set!  I had baking soda!  I had water!  I mixed.  I put it in my mouth!  I gagged!!!!

This stuff is wretched.  But, I was desperate.  I added a few drops of peppermint oil (known for settling stomachs).  I choked the rest down.  It worked!

So, my conclusion is that this simple mixture is very very effective.  It is the most effective remedy I’ve ever tried, even outdoing prescriptions.  But I think that I will have to find myself in another desperate situation before I try it again.

If you are looking for an alternative to store bought antacids and wish to try this, I recommend looking into putting some flavor in it to help disguise the taste of the baking soda.  The peppermint oil helped, but it wasn’t enough to prevent me from buying my usual stuff the next time I was at the store.

 

2 Responses to “Natural Antacid?”

  1. Tim Says:

    Try flavoring it with pizza.


Leave a Reply

